Do You Think of Yourself as a Professional?

Do you think of yourself as a professional?  I do, but its taken some brain bending.  I’ve always thought of myself as an artist.  I’ve even sold work before.  One xmas I sold a substantial amount of work.  I was selling scarves and ornaments I’d made like it was going out of style.  But I was selling for dirt cheap because some money was better than none, and it was just a hobby.  I wasn’t getting paid for my materials, the price of the goods barely covered my time.

I’ve read a lot of business coaches write about banishing the “H” word, hobby.  If you don’t take yourself seriously as a business person, no one else will.  One of the best things I’ve read is the concept of starting vs. doing.  There is a great language difference when you say “I’m starting a business” and “I have a business”.  Not just a language difference, but a whole shift in how people perceive you, even how you perceive yourself.  I have  a business, Madame Saslow’s Curio.  I am selling my work through Etsy.  Nope, haven’t sold a thing online, yet.  (I am currently working on a commissioned knit piece, though!  Huzzah!)  Doesn’t mean I don’t have a business.  There is still a lot of tweaking that needs to happen.  I’m learning something new everyday.  Through FB, Twitter, and this blog, I’m learning to sell myself, not just my products.

How do you view what you do?  This doesn’t have to just apply to a business, but any big endeavor.  Painting the house, learning to cook French food, whatever.  Or even think this way for a task you don’t want to do, like putting away the laundry.  No need to “start” putting away the laundry, just do it.  Sort it, fold it, and you’re there. 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Do You Think of Yourself as a Professional?

  1. Leah Panos

    Hey there, old high school friend! 🙂 Just wanted to drop by and let you know I enjoy your blog. Definitely good food for thought! Although I’m not a crafty artist like yourself, this post applies to me as a professional musician. Now time for “laundry;” not starting it, just doing it! Love that mentality. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

