My Favorite Photographer, Michi Termo!

I am so pleased to introduce you to my favorite photographer, Michi Termo.  She did a wonderful job on my wedding, another wedding I was in, and my amazing portraits.  She is a pleasure to work with, her rates are quite reasonable, she’s very professional, and her work is outstanding. I would highly recommend her for any size event, wedding to personal session.  It isn’t too late to get your holiday card photo or schedule a family portrait to cherish for years to come!

I’ve included some of her favorite photos throughout this interview.  No, I didn’t make her add the gorgeous picture of me!

Me: Sum yourself up in three sentences.

Michi: I enjoy a challange and when I decide that I’m going to do something I don’t let anything hold me back. I’m an adventerous person who enjoys trying new things and testing out new ideas. Finally, I’m a whimsical sort of person, and find a lot of beauty and joy in things that are a bit different or unusual.

Me:  What draws you to photography?

Michi: There are two things that really fascinate me about photography. The first is the idea of capturing a moment. I love that photgraphy can capture a feeling or emotion and, in a way through that photo, that moment can live on. The second thing that I love about photgraphy is maybe a bit geeky, but I love that essentially photography is using light as a medium. I love that using different types of light and color can have such a drastic effect on the mood or ideas being conveyed in a photo.

Me:  Please tell us a little about your mentor.

Michi:  I’ve had the opportunity to work with and learn from a number of photographers, including teachers and friends, but I think the person who has been the most influential is my Dad.  He’s a long-time photography enthusiast, and he got me my first camera, a point and shoot film camera, when I was in elementary school. My Dad first taught me about the basics of light and exposure, and has since continued teach me and share new information, technology, and techniques that have helped me continue to learn and grow. I feel really lucky that my Dad and I are able to share a passion for photography.

Me: What are your favorite photography subjects?  Favorite locations to shoot?

Michi: I love photographing a wide variety of subjects, but I think what I love capturing the most are the little details. One of my teachers often said “the story is in the details,” and that’s really stuck with me. I love how the little things, often overlooked, can sometimes give a great deal of information about a person or an idea or a mood. As to locations, I again love shooting in a variety of atmospheres, because setting can lend a lot of feeling to a photo. If I had to choose a type of location, it would probably be somewhere out in nature, perhaps a forest or a beach. I find a lot of beauty in the natural world and I enjoy showing that in my photos.

Me:  What’s your favorite piece of equipment?

Michi: It’s really tough to say.  I have a lot of equipment that I use on a daily basis, but the piece of eqipment I think I enjoy most is my shutter release cable.  It has a few functions for firing the camera, but my favourite is for keeping the shutter open for a few seconds to a few hours.  By keeping the shutter open for a long time I can capture the movement of light or objects, an effect that I think is really beautiful.

Me:  For someone starting out, whats the best piece of equipment they could invest in (even if its cheap?)  Better camera?  Tri pod?  Lighting?  Light box?  Etc.

Michi:  I’m hestitant to reccommend a piece of equipment.  What will be most beneficial for a particular photographer is more dependent on the type of photography the person is interested in doing.  There isn’t really one piece of amazing equipment I can think of that’s perfect for everyone.  I think the best advice I could give would be to do a lot of research and figure out what type of photography they love and are interested in doing, learn everything they can about it, and then make decision about equipment based on that.

Me:  What do you do to your photos after you’ve taken them?  Do you alter them in any way?

Michi: I post process nearly all of my photos. Generally alterations are small, mostly adjusting the color or saturation. That said, I’m not at all opposed to making bigger adjustments to photos including cleaning up backgrounds or retouching portraits, because for me photography is not so much about having an exact representation of a person, or a place, or a thing, rather it’s about conveying a personal vision or idea, and I don’t want to let anything detract from that.

Me:  Where do you want your business to go?  What’s your big dream goal?

Michi:  I’m not entirely sure at this point.  I’m still early in my photography career and exploring different opportunities, but I love photography and I’d love to be able to do it full time.

Me:  Do you have any tips for amateur photographers?

Michi:  I would say shoot often and print your work.  Shooting as often as possible gives a lot of opportunity for practice and trying out new ideas and techniques, both of which can be really helpful for improvment and learning.  The reason I say to print as often as possible is because in the digital age we don’t see our photos in print as often anymore, and seeing a photo in print is a whole different experience.

Me:  Anything else you would like to add for our readers?

Michi:  Photography is my passion. I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing and hearing a little about my work, and thank you for giving me the opportunity to share!

Michi’s Contact Info:

Website: www.photosbymichi.com

Email: Michi@photosbymichi.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/photosbymichi

One thought on “My Favorite Photographer, Michi Termo!

Leave a Reply

