When is Enough Enough?

I have a hard time knowing when enough is enough.  Some times I don’t know when to quit.  I just want to keep going when I should go sit and relax (like right now I’m writing this post instead of having a cup of tea and a kitten).

This applies to my work as well.  It’s a good thing I have my husband as a sounding board, he’s good at telling me when something is done and I don’t need to add more swirls, beads, teal, feathers, whatever.

Here’s a recent example.  I’ve made a gorgeous pair of earrings with black agate and red evil eye beads.  My inclination is to add more.  Some is good, more is better, right?

Maybe I should add evil eye beads to all three hanging corners…. or maybe just three at the bottom.  I’ve done that on some other earrings and it looks great!…. or maybe three AND some other sparkly beads.  I love sparkly beads….

Well, I (and my husband) talked me out of it.  I’ve got a nice, clean, not TOO over the top pair of earrings ready to go.

How do you know when you are done?

3 thoughts on “When is Enough Enough?

  1. AuntTrisha

    You, my dear, suffer from a condition that runs in the family. Gramma Marie (your Great-Grandmother) lived by the words “if one is good, ten is better!” And you know how Gramma Joy decorates for the holidays. I found that for myself, when I start thinking “maybe I should”, that’s the time to stop.

    Reply
    1. madamesaslow Post author

      I have a lot of clothes covered in sequins that were Gramma Marie’s. When I think of her home (though I’ve never been there), I think of her asking “Can I cover this in gold spray paint?” as her major design love. I do love more.

      Reply
  2. MegansBeadedDesigns

    Oh, you certainly hit the nail on the head Adriann! Not knowing when enough is enough is a HUGE syndrome of mine as well. My hubby tries to tell me “People like simple jewelry, keep it simple.”

    But I’m like, “But I like, intricate, complicated, fabulous jewelry!”

    So i guess there is a happy medium in there somewhere I’ll find someday. Haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

