Custom Work: Great Experience or Not So Great

One of the things I didn’t show you in my post friday about recent work was the custom work I just did for my friend Jessie.  Jessie wanted some cute little dangley earrings.  Her style is more delicate and girly than mine, but it wasn’t anything too outrageously different than what I do.  So, she commissioned me to make earrings.  Conveniently, she was at my house and I got to make them in front of her, asking as I went, “How about this?”.

She had also purchased a vintage blouse from my Etsy shop, so instead of shipping her goods to her, she had my husband and me out for dinner on the glorious Northern California coast.  As a hostess gift, I sneaked in a making necklace.  Hehe!  I was super pleased.  She was super pleased.  Dinner was delicious and the company was better. I would happily do custom work for her again and have no problem doing it for a stranger.

Do you do custom work?  Have you approached an artist about custom work?  If you just want something a little different, green instead of blue, silver instead of brass, whatever, the artist will usually be happy to accommodate.  It never hurts to ask.  If you don’t do custom work, why not?

As a stained glass artist my mom Kathryn does custom work almost exclusively.  That’s the nature of that art.  You met with the clients, measure, plan, draw, and get approval before ever starting the window.  In ceramics, however, she’s had trouble with clients wanting custom work.  They see her art  work and like it.  They want something else, maybe a set of bowls, or mugs.  Usually something more practical than just a work of art.  I am now the happy owner of a butter dish a lady disappointed with for vague reasons after commissioning it.  Too brown?  Too swirly?  Not brown enough?  It’s mine now and it holds my butter wonderfully AND looks great in my orange kitchen.

3 thoughts on “Custom Work: Great Experience or Not So Great

  1. Heather

    Lovely jewelry for a lovely lady! 😀 I’m so glad you are having fun with your work and with our friends. XOXOX

    Reply
  2. Jessica Lenth

    Thank you for the wonderful earrings and the surprise gift. I got lots of compliments on both this weekend in Stockton. I can’t wait to do it again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

