Proud of What I Do: Made Local Marketplace

I am really proud of what I do.  Proud to tell people I’m an artist when they ask what I do.  I’m equally proud and excited to be volunteering a shift at the Share Exchange where my work is for sale in the Made Local Marketplace.  My Friday morning shift isn’t a lot, but I am happy to contribute to this venture that’s here to support and grow the local economy of Sonoma County.  I love meeting the other makers that come in to fuss with their work and check on things.  I’m already making great contacts for my own work, like meeting a photographer who will help me with product photos.  (Yeah, my photos have improved, but I am CERTAINLY not anywhere near where I could be or would like to be.  I am always learning.)  At all the jobs I’ve liked, I have developed a strange pride of ownership.  You’d think I owned this place if you knew how pleased I am with it.  😉

I can’t deny what a thrill it is to see photos of my work on the Made Local Marketplace’s website.  I have helped conceive and organize some of the upcoming events like the Made Local Marketplace Peer-to-Peer Roundtable (Tuesday April 17th 6:30-8:30), the Makers’ Saturday: Swap, Make, & Eat (Saturday April 28th 11:00-2:00), and a “Open an Etsy Shop” Workshop that I’ll be hosting on Thursday May 10th 6:00-8:00.  This market space is going to help my business grow and I want to help it, too.  It is more than a gallery or shop space.  It’s a place I can get business advice from SCORE, attend a workshop about business or the environment, or just learn to make something new from another artist.

If you’ve in Sonoma County, please go check it out.  You’ll be supporting local artists and business people like me.

531 5th Street, Santa Rosa, CA 95401

Monday – Friday 9am-6pm, Saturday 11am-5pm

 707-583-7667

All photos are from the Share Exchange!

4 thoughts on “Proud of What I Do: Made Local Marketplace

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Night Market « Madame Saslow

  2. Pingback: My First Wednesday Night Market « Madame Saslow

  3. Pingback: Art vs. Biz Balance « Madame Saslow

Leave a Reply

